Buenos Aires Film Festival Unveils Full Slate

The event, one of the major fests in Latin America, will screen over 400 films and welcome directors Nanni Moretti, Claude Barras, Lucrecia Martel, Alex Ross Perry and Denis Côté, among others.

The 19th edition of the Buenos Aires Independent Film Festival (BAFICI) on Thursday announced its full program at a press conference in Buenos Aires, led by the city’s Minister of Culture Angel Mahler, fest director Javier Porta Fouz and Argentine Film Institute president Alejandro Cacetta.

An art house beacon and one of Latin America’s main film events, BAFICI will screen more than 400 films and welcome international guests Nanni Moretti (Mia Madre), Claude Barras (Oscar-nominated My Life as a Zucchini) and Alex Ross Perry (Sundance entry Golden Exits) to present retrospectives of their work. Other guests include Lucrecia Martel (whose awaited Zama is expected to premiere at Cannes), Stephane Brize, Heinz Emigholz and Locarno winner Denis Côté (Boris Without Béatrice), who was given carte blanche to program an entire section of the festival.

The international competition will feature 22 films premiered in top festivals like Berlin, Toronto, Rotterdam, Sundance and San Sebastian, including the late Anton Yelchin’s last film Porto, directed by Gabe Klinger. The slate also includes five world premieres: 2557 (Roderick Warich), A Simple Adventure (Ignacio Ceroi), Today Match at 3 (Clarisa Navas), Kingdoms (Pelayo Lira) and Medea (Alexandra Latishev Salazar). The other three main competitions will focus on Argentine, Latin American and avant garde and genre cinema.

“Faced with the everyday offer at the box office, BAFICI’s role promoting diversity and auteur films becomes essential,” said Porta Fouz. 

BAFICI’s program also includes a punk-related section and children-oriented sidebar Little Bafici focusing on the work of Francisco Regueiro, Antonio Reis, Sofia Bohdanowicz, Johannes Nyholm, Gabriel Abrantes and Marc Hurtado, among others. 

The festival is set to run April 19-30 across 32 venues in Buenos Aires.  

BAFICI’s competition lineup is as follows:


2557 – Roderick Warich
A Simple Adventure – Ignacio Ceroi
Today Match at 3 – Clarisa Navas
Killing Ground
– Damien Power
Dark Skull
– Kiro Russo
– Affonso Uchôa, João Dumans
In the Intense Now – João Moreira Salles
Kingdoms – Pelayo Lira
Medea – Alexandra Latishev Salazar
There’s Lightning Behind – Julio Hernández Cordón
Summer 1993
– Carla Simón
Niñato – Adrián Orr
95 and 6 to Go – Kimi Takesue
My Entire High School Sinking Into the Sea
– Dash Shaw
Dark Night
– Tim Sutton
Liberami – Federica Di Giacomo
Newton – Amit V. Masurkar
Out There – Takehiro Ito
The Wedding Ring – Rahmatou Keïta
– Gabe Klinger
Wind – Tamra Drakulić
The Candidate – Daniel Hendler


The Coraggios – Baltazar Tokman
Cetaceans – Florencia Percia
Cícero impune – José Celestino Campusano
The Dread – Martín Bechimol, Pablo Aparo
El pampero – Matías Lucchesi
Weekend – Moroco Colman
By the Hour – Day – Month – Diego Bliffeld
The Little Match Girl  – Alejo Moguillansky
The Cinephiles – María Álvarez
The Territories – Iván Granovsky
Orione – Toia Bonino
Another Mother – Mariano Luque
Provincial City – Rodrigo Moreno


May You Live in Interesting Times – Santiago Van Dam
Toublanc – Iván Fund
So Long Enthusiasm – Vladimir  Duran
At Your Heels  – AzucenaLosana
Fuddy Duddy  – Siegfried A. Fruhauf
Keep That Dream Burning – Rainer Kohlberger
Lilith’s Awakening – Monica Demes
Ceux qui font les révolutions à moitie n’ont fait que se creuser un tombeau – Mathieu Denis, Simon Lavoie
Prank – Vincent Biron
The Intestine – Lev Lewis
Have a Nice Day – Liu Jian
Merry Christmas Mr. Mo – Dae-hyung Lim
Dhogs – Andrés Goteira
Our Friend the Moon – Velasco Broca
Sister of Mine – Pedro Aguilera
Santoalla – Andrew Becker, Daniel Mehrer
Rudzienko – Sharon Lockhart
People Power Bombshell: The Diary of Vietnam Rose – John Torres
Struggle for Life – Antonin Peretjatko
Happy Times Will Come Soon – Alessandro Comodin
Mimosas – Oliver Laxe
Correspondences – Rita Azevedo Gomes
The Ornithologist – Joao Pedro Rodrigues
Super Taboo – Hui-yu Su
The Disco Shines – Chema García Ibarra
The Absence of Eddy Table – Rune Spaans
The Film by Manuel – Lucas Damino, Sebastián Menegaz


A Faraway Land – Gabriel Muro
Andrés Reads and Writes – Daniel Peralta
A Woman – Daniel Paeres, Camilo Medina
The City of the Future – Cláudio Marques, Marília Hughes
A Secret in the Box – Javier Izquierdo
Carrion – Sebastián Hiriart
Casa Roshell – Camila José Donoso
Samba – Laura Amelia, Guzmán Israel Cárdenas

SOURCE: Hollywood