BUhari removes NEMA DG, Sani-Sidi; approves executive management for agencies

President Muhammadu Buhari on Friday sacked the Director General of the National Emergency Management Agency, Alhaji Muhammed Sani-Sidi.

Sani-Sidi has been immediately replaced by Engineer Mustapha Yunusa Maihaja.

Presidential spokesman, Femi Adesina, in a statement announced the change of guards in NEMA along with the appointment of executive management for some other Federal Government agencies and parastatal.

Sani-Sidi’s tenure would have ended in 2018.
The NEMA Board is now to be chaired by the Vice President, Prof Yemi Osinbajo (SAN).

Other members of the NEMA Board are the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Engr. David Babachir Lawal; Captain Talba Alkali, representing Ministry of Transport and Aviation; Ambassador Rabiu Dagari, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Dr. Ngozi Azadoh, Ministry of Health; Alhaji Muhammadu Maccido, Ministry of Interior; Engr. Ajisegiri Benson Akinloye, Ministry of Water Resources; Air Vice Marshal Emmanuel Anebi, Nigerian Armed Forces; and Assistant Inspector General of Police Salisu Fagge Abdullahi, Nigerian Police Force.

Buhari also approved appointments into the executive management of some government agencies and parastatals.

The new chairman of the board of the Nigerian Television Authority is former newspaper editor and ex-presidential spokesman, Chief Duro Onabule.

Other executive directors of the NTA include: Dr. Steve Egbo, Administration and Training; Abdul Hamid Salihu Dembos, Marketing; Mohammed Labbo, News; Fatima M. Barda, Finance; Stephen Okoanachi, Engineering; and Wole Coker, Programmes.

At the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria, Aliyu Hayatu is the new chairman, while Buhari Auwalu and Yinka Amosun, are Zonal Directors for Kaduna and Lagos respectively.

Under the Ministry of Information and Culture, the Nigerian Film Corporation has Dr. Chika Maduekwe as General Manager; National Theatre and National Troupe of Nigeria, Comrade Tar Ukoh, Artistic Director; National Council for Arts and Culture, Otunba Olusegun Runsewe, Director-General; and National Film and Video Censors Board, Folorunsho Coker, Director-General.

SOURCE: The Nigerian Voice (local news)