FG Inaugurates Governing Boards, Councils Of Tertiary Health Institutions

Isaac Adewole, Minister of Health

SAN FRANCISCO, April 28, (THEWILL) – The Federal Ministry of Health on Friday in Abuja, inaugurated the Governing Boards and Councils of some tertiary health institutions, to strengthen the health sector.

Speaking at the occasion, Minister of Health, Prof Isaac Adewole, urged the appointees to support the vision and core values of President Muhammadu Buhari on transparency and accountability.

He said the composition of the membership had been done in conformity with the laws and Act setting up the various Councils and Boards stating their main function was to carry out oversight functions on the management to ensure smooth implementation of government policies, as well as efficient and effective utilization of resources.

Adewole advised the appointees to be mindful of the need for efficient management of scarce resources at all times while discharging their duties but cautioned the appointees against direct involvement in day-to-day administration of the institutions, saying such function resides with the Registrars and Chief Executives.

“It is our expectation that you will strengthen the resource base of the institutions, increase internally generated revenues and quality of services and training.

“Everything must be done in accordance with due process, especially the procurement processes, where the Councils and Boards will provide oversight,” he said.

The Minister advised that recruitment of staff should also follow due process, stressing that the constitutional role of the Federal Character Commission must be respected and adhered to.

NAN reports that the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria (NMCN) has 22 members, with Dr Abosede Ofi as Chairman; Dental Technologist Registration Board, 12 members, with Mr Vincent Ezeasor as Chairman and the Chartered Chemist of Nigeria, 17 members, with Prof. Okieimen Ebhodahe as Chairman.

Others are 18 – member Institute of Public Analyst of Nigeria, with Dr Dahiru Adamau as Chairman; 19-member Dental Therapist Registration Board, with Malam Jariri Saulawa as Chairman; as well as 13-member Radiographers Registration Board, with Mr. AFK Bakare as Chairman.

Facebook Comments


Source: The Will

148 thoughts on “FG Inaugurates Governing Boards, Councils Of Tertiary Health Institutions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.