Live: British and Irish Lions squad naming

Barrett swoops and scores1:00

Super Rugby: Hurricanes flyhalf Beauden Barrett has broken the game wide open, collecting a loose ball and running 60 metres to score.

Warren Gatland will name his Lions squad on Wednesday night.

Staff writersFOX SPORTS

AT long last, British and Irish Lions coach Warren Gatland will reveal his squad for the 10-match tour of New Zealand in June and July at 9pm AEST tonight.

England captain Dylan Hartley is set to be overlooked, according to reports out of the UK.

He will become the third successive England captain to miss out on selection for the Lions, which tours every four years.

Former NRL star Ben Te’o is expected to be named as one of five centres in the squad, edging out highly regarded teammate Jonathan Joseph.

Gatland took 37 players to Australia, but it’s anticipated that he will increase that number given the quality of opposition his touring party will encounter.

Follow all the latest news as Gatland gets set to announce his squad in the blog below!



Steve Borthwick, Warren Gatland, Rob Howley and Andy Farrell will form the Lions’ coaching staff.

Steve Borthwick, Warren Gatland, Rob Howley and Andy Farrell will form the Lions’ coaching staff.Source:Getty Images

The New Zealand-born Gatland was the mastermind of the Lions’ 2-1 series win over the Wallabies in 2013, which ultimately turned out to be Robbie Deans’ last series at the helm in Australia.

But the Lions will have to overturn what Graham Henry calls a “suicidal” itinerary and a shocking record in New Zealand if they are to claim back to back series wins.

The Lions’ only Test series triumph to date against New Zealand was in 1971, when they claimed the series 2-1 with one game drawn.

However, the last time they toured in 2005 saw the Lions lose all three Tests as they conceded 107 points.

NEW PODCAST: Sean Maloney, Stephen Hoiles and Christy Doran put a ban on SANZAAR speculation and get back to talking rugby.

Subscribe to the podcast on iTunes by CLICKING HERE

[embedded content]



Game 1: Saturday, June 3 v Provincial Union Team in Whangarei

Game 2: Wednesday, June 7 v Blues in Auckland

Game 3: Saturday, June 10 v Crusaders in Christchurch

Game 4: Tuesday, June 13 v Highlanders in Dunedin

Game 5: Saturday, June 17 v Maori All Blacks in Rotorua

Game 6: Tuesday, June 20 v Chiefs in Hamilton

Game 7: Saturday, June 24 v All Blacks in Auckland

Game 8: Tuesday, June 27 v Hurricanes in Wellington

Game 9: Saturday, July 1 v All Blacks in Wellington

Game 10: Saturday, July 8 v All Blacks in Auckland

— Fox Sports will broadcast all 10 games of the Lions tour of New Zealand, live and exclusive

Originally published as Live: British and Irish Lions squad naming

SOURCE: newsnow sport