Orogun Chiefs Deny DTHA Aspirant

By Kenneth Orusi, The Nigerian Voice, Asaba

Following the controversy that greeted the alleged endorsement of Chief Christopher Obiuwevbi Ominimini as the sole candidate for Delta State House of Assembly, Ughelli constituency 1, the Executive Committee of the Orogun Council of Chiefs has declared that it did not endorse the aspirant, rather he was prayed for.

In a communiqué issued at the end of an emergency Executive Committee meeting of the Orogun Council of Chiefs held at the Ughelli residence of the Chairman of the Council, Chief Johnson Akporugo, they maintained that the Orogun Council of Chiefs is a non-partisan cultural group.

The Communiqué which was signed by Chief Johnson Akporugo (Chairman) and Chief John Agabi (Secretary) stated that the prayer which the Chairman, Chief Johnson Akporugo earlier offered for Chief Obiuwevbi when he consulte

o them,“Other aspirants are free to consult the Council of Chiefs with respect to their political aspirations for any elective office as the Council is not pro any political party because members of the Council belong to various political parties.

The Communiqué also emphasized that the prayer of goodwill said for Ominimini did not by any way place a “a curse” on any other aspirants seeking for election into the Delta State House of Assembly from Ughelli North constituency 1.

The Council also rejected the offer by Chief Ominimini to provide the entertainment of (Ukodo) and drinks for one year during the Council of Chiefs monthly meetings.

The Communiqué called on Chief Ominimini to forthwith “stop” publications in the electronic, print and social media regarding the issue of prayer said for him by Chief Johnson Akporugo as such media campaign could bring the Orogun Council of Chiefs to disrepute.

Members of the executive committee of the Orogun Council of Chiefs present at the meeting were: Chief Johnson Akporugo, Chief Umi James, Dr Achugbue Edwin, Chief Akore G.O., Chief M Ovasavwerho, Hon Chief Akpoybo Friday and Chief Mrs Deborah Oghenesuowho.

Others were, Chief Osirim James, Chief Usira G.O., Chief Efetobor J.O., Chief E.A. Ogobene, Chief J.A. Agabi, Chief Samsom Okoro, and Chief Frank Ighorodje.


SOURCE :The Nigerian Voice (local news)

149 thoughts on “Orogun Chiefs Deny DTHA Aspirant

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.